Pathways through Lent, Uncategorized

Saturday After Ash Wednesday

The Lord will guide you always; he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail.

Isaiah 58:11

While I can honestly say I believe this to my core, it has taken me a long time to get here. I have had a very fortunate life: a loving and supportive family, wonderful friends, and needs that always seem to be met. I never gave things a second thought. But as I’ve grown up and ventured out on my own, I have truly come to realize how much God guides and strengthens me.

I will never forget the day when I sat in a doctor’s office and learned that I had been diagnosed with Hodgkin’s Lymphoma. I was alone, having thought I was simply getting stitches out, but everything changed in an instant: I was shocked, stunned—never in my wildest dreams did I envision anything close to this!

But somehow, not only did I get through it, I feel stronger for it. But I never could have gotten here alone. So much of that, truly, is the love, support and calming presence I received from my parents. I believe God was working with me through them. And even in those quiet times when I was alone with my thoughts and fears, I still felt strengthened. Never did I think to be down or feel sorry for myself.

God was, and always is, with and guiding me; constantly offering strength. My needs were satisfied and my frame strengthened, and I feel more fully prepared for whatever may come in the future.

Praise God.

Hilary West

Appointed readings for today: Isaiah 58: 9-14, Psalm 86: 1-11, Luke 5: 27-32

Leave a Reply

