Pathways through Lent

PAIN RELIEF (a poem by Janet Helgert)

by Janet Helgert

The Fifth Wednesday of Lent

Jeremiah 25:30-38       Psalms 119:145-176, 128, 129, 130 Romans 10:14-21    John 10:1-18

Tall needles pierce my skin.

Crystal tears flow from within.

Melt away this pain!

 

Many needles, protruding

From my taut body,

Invade its source.

 

Like soldiers in battle

They stand quite erect.

Their success I do suspect!

 

How many are needed

To heal this ample pain?

I count them once again.

 

I view a single needle

Up very close.

Such strange magic it holds.

 

I alight from the table

Free from needles

And prior pain.

 

What is this chi

That has made a well person

Of a sick me?

 

Freed from the potent prison

Of pain, at last!

Thanks be to God!

"Chi" calligraphy of the word for "life-force" from wikimedia commons.

 

Leave a Reply

